Reservist of the Year 2011

Representatives of the 12 major Army, Navy and (for the first time in 2011) Air Force Reserve units who competed against each other in 2011 Reservist of the Year competition.

2011 Nominee's during the Weapons Handling phase of the competition.

  • WINNER: LCPL Peter Archer, 7th Wellington and Hawkes Bay Battalion
  • 2nd: PTE Christopher Miller, 2nd Health Support Battalion
  • 3rd: CPL Daryll Savage, 3rd Auckland and Northland Battalion
  • Director-General's Award: LSCS Thomas Katu, HMNZS Olphert
The contestants were assessed on their performance in a series of military tasks including weapons handling, first aid and physical fitness, as well as having to perform in a public speaking competition.

Defence Minister Wayne Mapp, the guest speaker at the award evening, congratulated the winner, place-getters and the other contestants on their achievements in the competition and elaborated on the importance of reservists and their actions over the past year.

“They are fine examples of the calibre of our Reserve Forces. Their performance demonstrates the skills that Reserves have. In addition to core military functions Reserves are able to assist with local emergencies and make a valuable contribution to the wider society,” he said.  

“This was clearly demonstrated in the New Zealand Defence Force response to the Christchurch earthquake, in which reservists are still playing a significant role assisting local residents.”

“With the current high operational tempo we are asking more of reservists of all three Services. They are deployed to the four corners of the globe, some taking more than six months from their lives to undertake specialist training and deploy to hostile environments,” Dr Mapp said.

The Reservist of the Year award was presented by Mrs Joan Clouston the daughter of Sir Harold Barrowclough who was a reservist known for his conspicuous bravery and brilliant leadership during WWl and WWll.

This page was last reviewed on 12 September 2012, and is current.