Army Reserve

Reserve Force Units

Following the latest stage of Reserve Integration, six infantry battalions have merged into three:

  • 2/4 RNZIR comprising Canterbury, Nelson, Marlborough, West Coast Company and Otago and Southland Company
  • 3/6 RNZIR comprising Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly’s Own) and Northland Company and Hauraki Company
  • 5/7 RNZIR comprising Wellington, West Coast and Taranaki Company and Wellington (City of Wellington’s Own) and Hawke’s Bay Company.

Previously they were known as:

  • Third Auckland (Countess of Ranfurly's Own) and Northland Battalion Group
  • Sixth Hauraki Battalion Group
  • Fifth Wellington, West Coast and Taranaki Battalion Group
  • Seventh Wellington (City of Wellington's Own) and Hawke's Bay Battalion Group
  • Second Canterbury, Nelson, Marlborough and West Coast Battalion Group
  • Fourth Otago and Southland Battalion Group

Integrated Regular-Reserve Force Units

Reservists are also integrated into the following Army units:

  • 2 Health Support Battalion (NZ)
  • Queen Alexandra's Mounted Rifles
  • 1 NZ Signals Regiment
  • 1 Military Police Company
  • 2 Engineer Regiment
  • 2 Logistics Battalion
  • 3 Logistics Battalion
  • 16 Field Regiment
This page was last reviewed on 20 October 2014, and is current.